Blind Mice Run

I left you that morning

In a flower bed by the lake

Talking to no one

And calling each flower by name

 

Oh sweet love run

This world is so cruel

Oh sweet love run

I do this only for you

 

I found you next morning

With skin milky white

I added some color, deep red

With my carving knife

 

Oh blind mice run

The farmer has come

Oh blind mice run

The world’s come undone

 

I found him that morning

Wandering by the lake

Looking for your love in vain

And pure heartache

 

Oh dear John run

You cannot have my wife

Oh dear John run

To the flower bed to die

 

I laid there next morning

Crying naked and shamed

Talking to no one

And calling my flower by name

 

Or dear god please

If from this I should wake

Oh dear god please

Must my heart break

 

Oh blind mice run

Not knowing where they’ve gone

Oh blind mice run

Until their tales are gone

 

Leave a Reply

